Staten Island Web logo

June 14, 1777, the Continental Congress passed the first Flag Act: "Resolved, that the flag of the United States be made of thirteen stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be thirteen stars, white in a blue field, representing a new constellation." The Act of April 4, 1818, provided for thirteen stripes - representing the thirteen original colonies, and one star for each state, to be added to the flag on the Fourth of July following the admission of each new state, signed by President Monroe.

Staten Island WebŪ Forums Index.