Staten Island Web logo

Bugliosi Thomas Perillo Jr. TOMDGIMP tomdgimp@excite.com I showed a friend of mine (who is a retired prosecutor) RS's post, and he gave me some input into how things work.
While the comments are mine, they come from my understanding of what RS wrote, and what my friend explained to me.
Having been seated at the table in front of the courtroom myself (numerous times, and no I'm not a lawyer), I can say that I believe I have a very good grasp of how the game is played, but I do not believe I know it as well as my friend or RS.
My comments are below

On 2/12/2001 11:00:00 PM, FawCawnahs wrote:
>
>That's why deputy DA's often wanna kill
>their supervisor, for handing off the
>dogs and keeping the cherries.
>
***Vincent Bugliosi was a DEPUTY DA, so if we follow what you are saying, he should have been handed the "dogs" while his supervisors got the "easy" ones. So if you are correct in that, that means the man did a really good job, since all he had to work with were the lousy cases.
>
>Some people don't think that's Winning.
>Some of us, who've seen this sort of
>thing and know what's realy going on
>consider this "taking unfair advantage"
>of one's position, as in "shooting fish
>in a barrel," to fatten up one's record.
>
***Okay, well since you were a prosecutor, you know that your job is to convict the case, whether that means a plea bargain, or a jury conviction.
You claim some people consider this "taking unfair advantage", yet you say nothing of the other side, the defense. When a case goes to trial the defense is entitled to full disclosure of everything the prosecutor has while the defense has no such limitation, except for a witness list. That's not "unfair advantage"?

>105 out of 106 makes me think there are
>ways to play with the statistics.
>
***My friend was adamant about me bringing this point up in my answer, so.....